Maltz Museum’s ‘Stop the Hate’ Contest Announces Top 25 | Local News


The Maltz Museum of Jewish Heritage’s Stop the Hate Youth Speak Out & Youth Sing Out competition announced its top 25 contestants ahead of the awards ceremony on April 13.

Now in its 14th year, the program launched by the Beachwood Museum will award $100,000 to students, teachers and schools in middle and high schools in northeast Ohio who speak out against prejudice and discrimination through individual essays and of group songs, according to a press release. The contest awards ceremony will take place at 7 p.m. on April 13 on Zoom.

Beginning in 2022, the total amount of anti-bias education scholarships, prizes and grants awarded through the competition will be $1.4 million. About 45,000 students have participated in 12 counties since its inception. Using object-based learning, students learn what it means to be a spectator, spectator, or perpetrator during global events like the Holocaust and national events like the civil rights movement. In reflecting on this story, students are encouraged to think about the discrimination they experience or witness today. Students answer the question about the role they play in changing their community, the statement said.

In the 11th and 12th grade category, the finalists are: Moira Ackerman (grade 12) from Hudson High School; Raychelle Davis (12th) of Hudson High School; Lizzy Huang (11th) of Shaker Heights High School; Jacqueline Hudak (Grade 11) of Lakewood High School; Tiba Jraik (12th) Rhodes College and Career Academy; Sanjana Katiyar (11th) of Strongsville High School; Samah Khan (11th) of Beachwood High School; Maraja Moss (12th) of Jackson High School; Jenan Qaraqish (12th) of Hudson High School; and Mykenna Roy (12th). The category grand prize is $20,000; $10,000 for the first runner-up; $5,000 for the second runner-up; and $1,000 for honorable mentions.

In the grades 6-10 category, the finalists are: Juliet Richard (6th grade) from Hudson Middle School; Mattia Sturman (6th) of Rocky River Middle School; Aanchal Nassar (7th) of Hathaway Brown School; Jocelyn Sesnowitz (7th) of Joseph and Florence Mandel Jewish Day School; Ida Chang (8th) of Beachwood Middle School; Chelsea Gipson (8th) from Monticello College; Anah Khan (9th) Beachwood High School; Michael McNally (9th) of Mayfield High School; Asia Howard (10th) of Twinsburg High School; and Benjamin Ralph (10th) of Walsh Jesuit High School. Prizes for this category are $400 and $100.

For the Youth Sing Out high school category, the competitors are: “Brown Child” from Laverne McLain’s seventh period class, Max S. Hayes High School; “Skittles” by Sarah Hodge’s Civic Class 2.0, Glenville High School; “Speak Out” by Nicole Majercak’s first-period class, Beachwood High School; “Step For Ours” by Antoinette Brown’s Eighth Period Class, Shaw High School; and “Tragedies and Memories” by Nicole Majercak’s 10th-period class, Beachwood High School.

For the “Youth Sing Out middle school” category, the competitors are: “Avenue” from the seventh and eighth grade classes of Sheila Chamberlin, Clark Elementary School; “Gen Z” by Karen Fugate’s Third Period Class, Luis Muñoz Marin School; “Revenge Is Not the Way” Mollie Lockwood’s sixth grade class, Clark Elementary School; “Set Me Free” by Stephanie Terranova’s seventh and eighth grade classes, Clark Elementary School; and “Tell Me (My Life Matters)” by Lisa Blasko’s seventh grade class, Garfield Middle School.

The Youth Sing Out Awards are anti-bias grants for schools.

Each of the more than 2,000 contestants will receive a certificate of congratulations for entering the contest. Participating schools also share an award and two Stop the Hate Teachers of the Year will be named, according to the release.

The virtual event is free and open to the public, but registration is required.

To learn more about the competition, visit


Comments are closed.